Established through a 1909 Act of State Parliament, The University of Queensland was the first university in the state and was officially founded on April 16, 1910, with the gazettal of appointments to the first UQ Senate. Teaching started in 1911 in Old Government House in George Street, Brisbane. In the first year there were three faculties – Arts, Science and Engineering – and 83 students (60 men and 23 women).

After World War I, the University expanded rapidly and soon outgrew its inner-city location. In 1922, an additional site in Victoria Park (now occupied by the Medical School) was secured. Four years later, Dr James O’Neil Mayne and his sister Miss Mary Emelia Mayne provided funds to buy the St Lucia site where the University’s main campus is now located. Construction started on the St Lucia site in 1937 and the first building, later named the Forgan Smith Building after the Premier of the day, was completed in 1939. During World War II, it became the advanced headquarters for the Allied Land Forces in the South West Pacific.



Aerial view of St Lucia campus in 1936



In 1990, the University merged with the Queensland Agricultural College at (now Gatton), 80 kilometres west of Brisbane, resulting in the union of the two oldest higher education institutions in the State and producing a substantial increase in enrolments. The former Queensland Agricultural College enrolled its first students in 1897 and the two institutions had a long history of cooperation in teaching and research activities.

In 1999, UQ opened a major campus in the provincial centre of Ipswich, taking over a site previously used by the Challinor Centre mental health facility. In January 2015 this campus transferred to the University of Southern Queensland but UQ continued to teach at the USQ Ipswich campus until 2016 to assist particular students complete their studies. 

Established in 2010, UQ’s major clinical health and research teaching location at Herston is now UQ's third campus.

Malcolm I. Thomis' book, A Place of Light & Learning : the University of Queensland's First Seventy-five Years, provides information on the University’s history to 1985.

An essay on the early history of the UQ St Lucia campus site, with a particular focus on historic maps, is available on the Queensland Historical Atlas website.

History of UQ section

UQ Centenary 2010

Gatton history

Officers and Former Officers

Emeritus Professor John Hay AC, Former Vice-Chancellor and President (1996?007)

History of the UQ Coat of Arms

[PDF 258kb]

History of the University seal

ag软件挂机打公式自动投注 黑龙江p62 浙江十一选五 股票配资是什么意思合法吗 4场进球 陕西快乐10分 辽宁快乐12 湖南快乐10分 智富配资 陕西快乐10分 红牡丹配资 美国股票指数道琼斯代码 分分彩 福建11选5 电竞比分网1zplay 股票配资送28888元体验 7星彩